Made possible by

Log in

9 • Site of Reformed Dutch Church

In 1769, the Reformed Dutch Church built an edifice on what is now the corner of Center Street and Arthur Kill Road (not far from the Voorlezer's House which had been its meeting house in the previous century). This church was initially formed with support from the Reformed Dutch Church in Port Richmond as well as an informal alliance with local Presbyterian congregants. The building was destroyed by the British in 1776, and in 1808 a new church was built on the site.

The second church structure was designed to be 43 x 33 feet in size, with a steeple 100 feet high extending two feet beyond the main building. It was enlarged to a size of 68 x 33 feet by 1858. It became known as the South Reformed Dutch Church (to distinguish it from the Port Richmond congregation on the island's north shore). The Parsonage which served as home to four successive pastors of the church remains standing at the corner of Arthur Kill Road and Clarke Avenue.

The congregation was struggling by 1875, and the church closed its doors ca. 1878. The church building was sold by the mid-1880s; it was then moved to another location on Center Street for use as a storage facility for the nearby Carriage Factory. The church cemetery was also closed and bodies were removed and re-interred at the Moravian Cemetery in New Dorp. The remaining property, including the Parsonage, was purchased by Parsonage resident Leah Flake in 1886.

The church structure at its final location was demolished in 1903.

Upcoming Events

718 • 351 • 1611

Historic Richmond Town
441 Clarke Avenue

Staten Island, NY   10306


Charlie Sullivan to portray legendary American politician James Guyon Jr. at upcoming Guyon Tavern Concert Series

CharlesSullivan 120x150Charles Sullivan is no stranger to acting. This time traveling performer has appeared on stages across Staten Island, most recently as Scrooge with Shakespeare Theatre, as well as with Sea View Playwright’s Theatre, Sundog Theatre, and In the Wings.

This season, he portrays James Guyon Jr., the historic proprietor of Historic Richmond Town’s Guyon Inn and Store. Home to the legendary Guyon Concerts, the circa 1819 building serves up an authentic 19th century acoustic music experience with a warm and resonant sound quality illuminated by candlelight and warmed by a potbelly stove.

Tavern Concert Series at Historic Richmond Town Kicks off Jan. 13

TavernConcerts newsroom header

Jan 5, 2018 - The Guyon Tavern (circa 1819) at Historic Richmond Town (HRT) serves up an authentic 19th century acoustic music experience with a warm and resonant sound quality that is rarely found anymore, thanks to the original aged wood and plaster, and the unmistakable handmade construction.


Save our Roofs!

Basketmaker House Resized

Keep history safe and dry!

Online Ticket Sales

Online tickets are available up until 3pm, two weekdays before the event. For  Saturday and Sunday events, tickets are available online until 3 pm Thursday.



Help us share the American experience!

Follow us on Twitter

Share the Stories!

Third County Courthouse Rendered Painted columns

Your support helps us tell the stories of ordinary people working together to build an extraordinary country.  Let's share these stories together. Go ahead, click and donate!!